New award to recognise local scientists

ACT Chief Minister Katy Gallagher has  announced the introduction of a new science award at the Canberra launch of National Science Week. The ‘ACT Scientist of the Year’ will be awarded annually by the ACT Government with the recipient to receive $30,000 to assist with an identified research project.

“Canberra has long been recognised as a centre of excellence in research and innovation, and this new award will provide a local scientist with support to further their research,” the Chief Minister said.

“Each year the award will be themed around a particular field of scientific endeavour. Details of the theme for the first year, and the nomination and judging process, will be announced later in the year.”

“The introduction of the ACT Scientist of the Year can only serve to build on our city’s reputation as a ‘smart city’ and a world leader in scientific research and innovation.’

Nominations for the award will be called for in early 2015, with the winner to be presented with the first award during National Science Week in August 2015.

The award has been welcomed by leaders in the field of Science, including the Chief Scientist of Australia, Professor Ian Chubb AC.

“As a city that is home to some of the finest scientific minds in the country and world-class research institutions, it is pleasing to learn that the ACT Government is providing additional assistance to the local scientific community,” Professor Chubb said.

Current Canberra Citizen of the Year and eminent medical researcher, Professor Chris Parish, also congratulated the ACT Government on the initiative.

“This support for a Canberra-based scientist will provide another opportunity to showcase the contribution that Canberrans make to the world of science, both nationally and worldwide,” Professor Parish said.

The ACT Government currently supports a range of science-related activities and events, including National Science Week, TedEX and the Inspiring Australia program.

Visit the ACT Scientist of the Year webpage