Tuesday, 12 May 2015

Economic development the focus as Canberra Region unites

CBR Region logo on stickers Chief Minister Andrew Barr speaking at the launch of Canberra Region Crowd at the launch of Canberra Region

The ACT Government and 12 regional NSW councils have come together to form the new Canberra Region.

The Canberra Region’s economic development opportunities will be enhanced by the new partnership, with the councils and the ACT Government working together to capitalise on the foundations already established in the area.

ACT Chief Minister Andrew Barr said "We have a unique bond with the councils that surround our city, a bond that is mutually beneficial and leads to the prosperity of the area."

"I have no doubt this increased collaboration will create even more brilliant possibilities for our region. The development of a single brand for the region will provide a strong platform upon which we can promote our competitive strengths to potential visitors, investors, students, residents and businesses."

Council Mayors voted unanimously to work collaboratively on the development of a common regional brand to leverage off the investment the ACT Government has made on the new Canberra brand.

The Chief Minister said "The diversity of the new Canberra Region continues to amaze me. There are few other places in Australia, or indeed the world, where you can spend the morning skiing in the mountains and dine on oysters by the ocean in the evening."

The 12 regional councils joining the ACT Government as part of the Canberra Region include Young, Boorowa, Yass Valley, Harden, Goulburn-Mulwaree, Upper Lachlan, Palerang, Queanbeyan, Cooma-Monaro, Snowy River, Bombala, and Eurobodalla.

The Canberra Region brand will adopt the use of the CBR logo, which will be integrated into the existing logos already used by local councils.

1 comment:

  1. Your blog is very helpful and I have learnt lot of things from your blog. Marino Sussich is very professional in the field of business from many years.